Thursday, November 09, 2006


Sultan Mizan is next King
Saturday November 4, 2006

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah, has been elected the 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term effective Dec 13.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said in a statement that the appointment of Sultan Mizan as the successor of the present King, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail, was announced by the Conference of Rulers at its special meeting at Istana Negara yesterday.

The 208th meeting also agreed to proclaim the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah Sultan Badlishah, as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, also for a five-year term, with effect from Dec 13.

Abdullah said the Conference of Rulers, chaired by the Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negri Sembilan, was attended by all the Rulers except for the Sultan of Pahang and Sultan of Johor.

Sultan Mizan, who was born on Jan 22, 1962 at Istana Al-Muktafi, Kuala Terengganu, is currently the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

He was first appointed Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong on April 26, 1999 when Sultan of Selangor Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah was the 11th King.

The second time he was appointed Yang di-Pertuan Agong was on Dec 12, 2001, following the death of Sultan Salahuddin on Nov 21 that year.

As for the Sultan of Kedah, he was the fifth King, from Jan 12, 1970 until Sept 20, 1975.

Since Independence, all the Malay Rulers from the nine states in the peninsula have had the opportunity to be elected as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, with Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan Tuanku Abdul Rahman Tuanku Muhammad being elected the first from Aug 3, 1957 until April 1, 1960.

He was followed by Sultan of Selangor Tuanku Hishamuddin Alam Shah Al-Haj, who died several hours before being installed as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Sept 1, 1960.

The third King was the Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Putra Syed Hassan Jamalullail, the father of the present Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

They were followed by Sultan of Terengganu Tuanku Ismail Nasiruddin Shah (the grandfather of Sultan Mizan), the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan of Kelantan Tuanku Yahya Petra Sultan Ibrahim (the father of the present Sultan), and Sultan of Pahang Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Sultan Abu Bakar.

After them came Sultan of Johor Tuanku Mahmood Iskandar Al-Haj, followed by the Sultan of Perak Sultan Azlan Muhibuddin Shah, Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negri Sembilan Tuanku Jaafar Tuanku Abdul Rahman and Sultan Salahuddin (the father of the present Sultan of Selangor).

Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Tuanku Syed Putra Jamalullail, who was elected the 12th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Dec 13, 2001 will end his term on Dec 12.– Bernama

No comments: